This is a word I’ve heard most of my life, but never paid much attention too. You see, my nature is to do things or at least attempt to prove the naysayers wrong. To this point in my life I have always been able to do it. I remember my parents telling me not to do things because it will hurt me, or that I just might not be prepared enough for the task.. needless to say I have had a long series of adventures and temporary set backs my whole life. I don’t remember all the times my parents were right.. but I do recall most of the time that I proved them and the naysayers wrong.

I have been a firm believer most of my life that facing your demons pushes you past your fear of failure. I still believe this. What have added to this mantra, is the idea that the process or the “journey” really is the adventure. This is the harder side of hearing the  word “No”. Sometimes I want my career back on track.. now.. today, or at least some guided direction for my next step. This process has taught me a lot of things. Mostly that we don’t completely have the power to control the outcome of our lives and that accepting the process is harder than it seems… sometimes longer than we want.

On the positive side, I have found myself breathing in the life I have now and really trying to appreciate the people and opportunities that are in front of me now.

I am continually amazed at the support I have always had around me. Friends, family, co-workers, random conversations… messages from the universe. One of the coolest “no duh” moments happened this past week. Lelani and I were at the movie Wander lust with Jennifer Aniston. At the end of the movie, I realized that I have always had a partner/lover/friend in Lelani.. my wife. She is the nicest, most loving, relaxed, smart person I know. Being “on the beach” affects everyone around me… not just me. She really keeps me grounded and less stressed about the obvious… I do wish I was more like her in many ways.

This last couple of weeks of reflection have been interesting. I didn’t pass my Cert III skiing… again. I felt good about my performance, but was told “No” you don’t ski well enough to be one of the 10% pass this exam. I turned it around and applied for the board of directors at PSIA to see if I can create some change for better consistency and learning inside the organization… we’ll see what happens, but again an adventure.

Church was amazing this week… The Church of the Mountain of Powder-day Saints…

Amen!!

The husband of a good friend passed away unexpectedly this past week. He was younger than me, in relatively good health. His young son found him on the floor unresponsive. Very sad situation.. but another lesson about how short and cruel life can be sometimes.

I had a private lesson at Deer Valley the other day. This was a very cool family from Indiana. They stayed at the Stein Erickson Lodge.. a very nice expensive hotel in Deer Valley. Anyway, spending the day skiing with this very affluent family was fun. The kids were nice and polite, the moms were cool too. In fact, I’m sure we’ll keep in touch in the future. What I learned from this adventure is that being positive and having a good time is a universal common thread we all share, regardless of our income. These guys were always happy and excited to get out on the snow… at 8:45 am.. the lifts don’t open until 9. Even though they usually ended the day at 2 or 3 to go get a message or shopping.. can’t blame them.

I also got a call from a friend that was just inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame… he’s a real smart, talented dude… He called me the night he got the award to tell me about a possible job opening in radio. I was blown away.. on a night he should be celebrating his new title, he was calling me. Not sure the opportunity is a good fit, but he reached out to me to help. So impressed.

Yep, I’m pretty blessed. My life is 180 degrees different than it was two years ago.. and that’s not a bad thing. I do miss some parts of that “old life”.. but not all.

So here’s what I’ve come to… Sometimes “no means No“..

But sometimes No means “not now.. later”

Breathe deep, soak it in, ride the ride, smell the clean fresh newness of it all…. cuz it won’t last.

I hope.

