This past week was filled with surprises, new experiences and an old familiar friend. Getting back into radio was inevitable at some point, I just assumed that it would have happened faster for some reason. As I look back over the past 18 months of “Beach Sitting”, I have realized that the experiences have not only been valuable, but life changing.

I guess one of the things that seems to stand out the most is all the friendships that I’ve made. It’s amazing how many people you can meet when you change your routine. This being “On The Beach” time has been a huge blessing in disguise. At first it seems scary and hard, then I saw the opportunity to re-evaluate my situation and direction. Life is funny that way. I always seem to meet people who point out the very words or ideas I need to hear and consider at just the right time.

While we were in Hawaii, I felt a renewed sense of appreciation for all the incredible scenery. I’ve seen it before, but this time seemed to be more vibrant, colorful and sweet. Part of that of course has to be that I spent it with my best friend in the whole world… Lelani (my wife). Not to be sappy, but I just couldn’t get enough of the sunsets, sunrises, whale spotting, hiking, eating great food.. just being in te moment.. all with her as my guide. Again, I am truly blessed. One week out now from the beautiful beaches of Hawaii… I do miss it. Hawaii trip have always been a transitional step for me. It seems that every time there has been a new chapter or experience coming in my life, Hawaii plays a role.. weird. I guess life’s beaches have a lot to teach me…

I spent my first week at my new job at the radio station asking a lot of questions, reconnecting with old friends and asking more questions. That old feeling of asking questions about why we do certain things came rushing back… I also realized that I have come full circle in more ways than one. I mentioned that I started at this station 20+ years ago, but many of the staff have been co-workers from other station stops as well. I heard stories about how I once handled different situations from many of these new/old co-workers. My past has now come full circle to look me in the eye. That’s a little un-nerving to say the least.

Those old feelings of wanting to be successful, determination, frustration and fear of failure start to seep into my processing. I am more determined than ever to not let this new chapter take me down some of the same paths from the past. I can’t lose all the lessons learned from the mountain, the ocean, the paths crossed from all my mentors… the subtle promptings of my inner voice directing my thoughts and desired outcomes.

I have shared with my new friends, that the frustrations of find a new job have been replaced with the frustrations of getting a new job. The more I do radio, more I see that it’s the same political game it always has been. Nothing changes, except the faces and the budgets… That’s good and bad I suppose. My challenge is to not lose myself in the name of ratings or revenue.. instead, continue to learn from the people that the universe has put in my path.

I saw a quote yesterday that made me stop and think…

Live each day like it is your last, Learn day like you will live forever..” – Gandhi

Today I am Rich… now I have to remember that and live it!

