Aspen grove on the Butler Fork trail

The colors are starting to change in the Mountains of Utah. It’s been a dry Summer and it’s obvious that the dry conditions will bring a fast, less colorful Fall colors season.

 

A couple of weeks ago, my little brother send me this text.. “(wife) just life flighted to the hospital and is on life support. She couldn’t breathe last night and heart stopped twice.. she can’t breathe on her own…”  HOLY CRAP! I tried to call him, no response. Call my Dad, he was headed to the hospital too. You know that moment when you hear the phone ring in the middle of the night, and you fear the worst? That what this was.. except in the new age of electron communication. Getting a text is as powerful as a phone call.

I spent the majority of the day at the hospital with my Dad and brother. We tries to make the moment a little lighter like we do. But the obvious always comes flooding back like a tsunami of emotion for all of us. I could see my brother was in shock. So scared  that he might lose wife, yet so many questions and no solid prognosis from the doc. My sister-in-law was in ICU on a ventilator and monitors on both sides of her bed. The doc had her in a drug induced coma to slow down her systems so they can stabilize everything to know what if any damage had been done. It was true, we were told that she had cardiac arrest at least once, maybe twice because of the lack of oxygen. Now they had to rule out brain damage, liver, kidney and pancreas. It was touch and go for a week or so. The word went out that we needed divine intervention and fast. We all prayed for her to recovery, and it worked… thank goodness I have some very religious, god-fearing family members.

Several days later she was moved to a private room, then days after that she went home. Phew!! I have to say, I have been a firm believer in the power of prayer for most of my life.. this was just an example or message for and the family to never get too comfortable. Shit happens.. to everyone. Faith seems to be the great equalizer regardless of your chosen religion.

She is still recovering, but getting stronger and healthier everyday. In fact she went back to work last week… she’s a school teacher. That was a close call.. as my brother puts it. She had a combination of pneumonia and asthma.

 

One of the things that always seems to user in ski season… Oktoberfest and the “Sniagrab” (‘bargains’ spelled backward) sale at the Sports Authority. Both are happening right now. Oh.. and ski instructor uniforms…

Too soon???

This was actually a shot that will be used in an up coming Ski Utah article I was in. It will be sent out this Fall all over the world to promote Utah skiing.. I get to explain how to ski powder. I’ll let you know when it’s published so I can brag a little more.

 

Today we took a hike up Big Cottonwood Canyon. This time a different trail.. Butler Fork on the way to Dog Lake. Here are some pix.

 

 

 

This week will be interesting.. we finally found a house that we’re trying to close on. That should happen this next week AND Emi gets to transfer to a new school. This is going to be a bit stressful for all of us, but we need the extra room and a place to call home. Plus it’s got a view of the Great Salt Lake.. from the bench of the mountains… sweet.

Today I am Rich….

Oh and guess what I made after the hike??

2 fresh strawberry pies!!

 

 

