powder day at Brighton

powder day at Brighton

Great way to start… skiing powder!

I just realized that it’s been a long time since I blogged. Sorry for the delay.. Let’s see… My last blog I was talking about getting published in the Ski Utah supplement, finding a house and pictures of hikes.

Well the article was sent out worldwide and it was also published in Ski magazine!  I actually got paid for too. Maybe I’m on to something here. Writing about skiing would be fun. I’ll have to keep pursuing that idea.. I’ll let you know how it goes.

We did close on the house. It’s an older home from the early 70’s. The best thing about the house is that it’s on the bench between Little and Big Cottonwood canyons. Great views from the deck and close to skiing and hiking trails. Little did we know that when we started to make some changes to the house, it would take months, not weeks to finish. 3 months to be exact… we replaced flooring, re-modeled the kitchen and re-painted the inside. 3 months!! We moved in about 3 1/2 weeks ago.. right after Thanksgiving. In the mean time, I’ve been skiing and teaching skiing and skiing… oh and some skiing..

Here are some “before” pictures of the project..

Living room

 

 

 

more living room construction shots

more living room construction shots

 

kitchen

kitchen

Now “after” shots..

 

Living room "almost" finished.

Living room “almost” finished.

 

kitchen "after"

kitchen “after”

IMG_1012

 

My doctor found Basal Cell carcinoma on my right arm and carved a chunk of flesh. It’s still healing and I pray they got it all.

At work, my General Manager was let go.. actually the position was eliminated. This was a surprise and changed somethings at work to say the least. I got promoted to “co-Operations Manager” along with my longtime friend Sue Kelly. This will be an interesting new chapter in my broadcasting life. I get to oversee the “female stations” and she gets to oversee the “male stations”. We get along great and will have fun working even closer together for a common cause.

My real reason for writing today, was the experience I had earlier unpacking boxes. For the last 2+ years we have been living in a small condo. Most of our things have been in storage and out of sight and mind. Today we started unpacking many of the boxes we moved into the basement of the new house. We found everything from old hats, software, CD’s.. thousands of CD’s.. pictures, old documents and books. I found myself looking through box after box of old memories. I found and old contract from FM100, old promo shots with both Peggy and Jill, my resignation letter from FM100, goodbye emails from listeners and co-workers when I left FM100. I found old pictures of my dear friends in Texas and again, goodbye letters and notes from those co-workers as well.

The one memory that hit me the hardest was a book my Mom sent me when my best furry friend died. Sassy was a great dog/person.. When she died, I was so sad. It still affects me. Anyway, the book was “all Dogs Go to Heaven”. As I was digging through the box, I also saw a book from my dad too. The wave of emotions over whelmed me. It never fails to amaze me how fast little things like pictures, books, music and old items bring back all those deep feels and emotions. Emi watching all this spoke up and said, “wow, that’s a box of all kinds of memories and emotions..” All this made me look back at the last 6 months of my life and beyond. I realized that so much has changed, and yet nothing has changed. Sure we’re getting older.. evidenced by the old wedding pictures, and the picture of our first hike to Lake Mary over 13 years ago. And yet, I still feel the same.

One thing that I realized through all these emotions, was the feeling that another holiday season has come and gone. We’re all a year older. The whole family was together this year for the first time in two years.. and yet I couldn’t wait for all to be over. The holidays are just plain weird. I’ll leave at that.

So, as I start this new year. I have a new house, new responsibilities at work and a longer commute. This new year will no doubt bring new challenges and opportunities. Hopefully more hikes, injury-free powder days, health, good friends, family and of course music. My soul misses playing music. As we were hanging pictures today, I put my iPod on shuffle through the stereo and heard “The Sonnier Brothers” playing one of my favorite sings from our adventure in Texas. I miss some of those experiences and friendships. The music reminded me how much I miss music. I also found an old FM100 Christmas CD in one of those boxes with songs from “The Original” Mini Christmas concerts. I saw a song from Lokahi. My friends from Hawaii sang “Silent Night”.. so many memories… Is this what life will be like when we get old?

Or am I there?!

Until next time…

 

 

 

